I’m now a Blogger!

I’ve threatened to write a blog for many years and now the time has come! You see, I’m planning a short term mission trip to Papua New Guinea in August this year and so much has happened that I just feel I have to write it all down. Why not share it with others too? This has been such a journey for me and I haven’t even got on the plane yet…

Where did it all begin? Well, towards the end of last year I received my midwifery registration renewal notice and was wondering what I should do – to register or not was the question. I hadn’t worked as a midwife for 18 months since leaving my position at King Edward Memorial Hospital in Perth, WA. In fact, I had not done anything midwifery related for that entire time. I had deliberately avoided the ‘childbirth’ scene as I really needed a break from the field. For so many years I had advocated for women, inĀ particular those who had had a previous caesarean birth. I was emotionally tired and I needed to have some unadulterated time with my family; to slow down, gain perspective again and find myself. It was a very good thing to do.

I knew that my renewal notice would be coming and so I had started to pray about what I was to do. I remember thinking “Am I done with Midwifery”, “Is my life going to take a new direction now”, “Lord, what are your plans for me”? Within a few days of receiving my renewal notice, a friend of mine at the school my children go to asked me if I’d be interested in going on a trip to Papua New Guinea as a midwife. My answer was an immediate ‘yes’ and I went straight home and filled out my registration papers…

2 thoughts on “I’m now a Blogger!

    • Thanks Sara! Yes, sometimes I think I’m dreaming, but we’ll see where it leads. As you know me well you’d know that my head is buzzing with all sorts of ideas and plans, but for now I know I need to take one step at a time…

Leave a Reply

