The Dog ate my Bra!

I haven’t written for a while. I’ve felt the pressure to write! To be honest I’ve felt a bit flat (oh, and it is school holidays here). A friend of mine who is a writer advised me to just write when I felt like it and not feel pressure to do so – thanks for your encouragement Dr Lynette. A lot has happened over the past few weeks. I could write about 50 things to keep preteen boys occupied in the school holidays, finding time for me while living in the chaos of a family made up of a sailing mad husband, 2 exuberant boys (have I mentioned that they are preteen yet??), a demanding golden retriever puppy (teen as well!!) and a senile 17yr old Siamese cat…Sometimes at the end of a day I’ll just put my head in my hands, take a sip of crispy cool white wine and sigh – wow, what a day!

Anyway, why was I feeling flat? Well, I find in my life that there are times where the ‘compartmentalising’ becomes quite overwhelming. You know the sense that there are things coming at you from all sides and so you have to make a decision to put something aside and focus on another for a while, then when the moment is right again you can pick that something up again, before the demands of something else come by again…And so it goes on. I’m not sure if that is the experience of men too? Certainly as a woman and as a Mum, that has been my experience. Enter trip to PNG…My mind wants to focus completely on those preparations, but while I’m trying to write an important email to someone who works for WHO in PNG, my kids are fighting in the background, or when reading an interesting article on the ‘Millenium Project’ I’m reminded of the fact I need to “treat the kids like a dog and take them out for one good run a day”!! Oh and that we do need to eat – “Why do we have to eat all the time”, I cry.

And then I read 3 Lamentations 22-26. : “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion: therefore I will wait for him’. The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.”

As I sit quietly and contemplate my life and this trip to PNG I am reminded that the Lord has given me this opportunity to travel to PNG, He will equip me, He will go before me.

Oh, and the dog ate my brand new ‘Cotton rich’ bra!!

2 thoughts on “The Dog ate my Bra!

  1. Lynette Field says:

    Sara, your comments about compartmentalising strike a particularly strong chord with me today. It’s as if we spend our lives juggling, but rarely do we get to hand over the juggling clubs/balls or whatever metaphor you care to use-we have to keep those things in the air. I think anything I achieve during school holidays is a major effort-so I try and stick to small tasks-like cleaning the microwave or ordering books on-line! As soon as the kids are back at school I need to switch into thought mode and start my own work in earnest. Until then, its baking muffins and refereeing sibling arguments..Let’s hope variety is the spice of life…sometimes it just seems like a recipe for indigestion!!

  2. debbadger64@gmail.com says:

    Love reading your blog Sara, I know life has been hectic – but when you can – don’t forget to blog !!

Leave a Reply

